Relational Psychology — The Doors Game

Hi everyone! Today I have a very interesting thing in store for you. Want to know what it is? The heading has all the clues. But before I reveal the surprise, it’s important to understand what relational psychology is:-

Relational psychology is a branch of psychoanalysis wherein the subject is asked to imagine a situation and then led through it with the help of a series of questions pertinent to the scene being described. The questions directly stimulate the subject’s subconscious mind thus revealing aspects of their personality through their responses.

I am utterly fascinated by psychology. In fact the conversations I find most interesting and intriguing are the ones where I notice that the body language defies the verbal responses given to me. But what fascinates me even more is the intricate workings of my own mind. And that’s where relational psychology comes in. After all, a person is only self-aware till an extent.

brain

So today I have a scenario for you to try out (SURPRISE!). It’s fun and won’t take a lot of time. But before we begin keep these things in mind:-

1. Relax.

2. Don’t think too much about the questions. Just close your eyes after reading one question and go with the first thing that pops into your head. You can do it with your eyes open too if you are good at visualizing.

3. Don’t read the next question before you have answered the one you are on.

4. Write down your answers if you think you might forget them.

5. Whatever feels right to you is right.

Okay, so let’s begin:-

Imagine you are standing in front of four doors.

A red door.

A green door.

A black door.

And a white door.

Which door do you choose to go in first?

>

What do you see inside? Describe it.

>

Are there any people?

>

How do you feel about the place?

>

Do you want to stay or do you want to choose another door? If you want to choose another door which one would you choose next?

Go back and answer all the above questions with each door until you have either visited all the doors or have chosen to stay in one.

Finally, arrange the doors in the order of most preferred to least preferred.

The Analysis

Each door represents a particular human relationship or emotion. The red door signifies lust or love. The green door is for friendship. The white door is family. And the black door is your approach towards taking risks in life.

red

Everything you see beyond a door is associated with whatever the door signifies. If you gave a detailed description of the room/place behind a door, then you are more connected to that aspect of your personality. Likewise, the people you saw beyond a door tells you how you feel about them in life.

Of course, if you felt good about a door and the place/room behind it then it means you have positive feelings for that aspect of your personality/relationship. If not then the details within, or the people within (if any) give you clues as to why you have negativity associated with the particular door.

If you did not choose a door (or doors) then you have blocks associated with that aspect of your personality. Or in the case of the black door (because many people choose not to go through it) you are not a risk-taker.

Finally, the sequence in which you chose the doors tell about your superficial preferences but the order in which you arranged them in the end determines your true priorities in life.

Of course, as you may have noticed, the analysis is pretty vague. And that’s obvious because the doors game is different for different individuals (after all we have different minds and personalities). Therefore, you need to actively involve yourself to understand the meaning behind the things you saw or felt once you went through a door. And in case, you find it hard to interpret what you saw, feel free to write about it in the comments’ section below. I can interpret it for you.

As for me, I chose all four doors. But the one I loved was the green door because I saw a cozy little room with bean bags and a merry fireplace and shelves and shelves of books and comics everywhere. The walls were decorated with glow-in-the-dark stars and there was just one other person in the room. He was sitting in a rocking chair beside the fireplace and reading a book. That room was the happiest room ever!

Anyway, that’s it for today. I shall see ya all next time. And till then, have fun!

-Ria

P.S. If you like my writing style or love The Spyglassviewer, then don’t forget to subscribe to the blog. For more info check the right sidebar.

13 thoughts on “Relational Psychology — The Doors Game

  1. So what does it mean if, when you open a door, what you see beyond is just clutter, no people? I’ve spent my whole life trying to understand people (and myself). 🙂

    • If there is clutter beyond a door, and this clutter is the untidy unhomely kind, then I would guess that there is a lot of baggage surrounding that particular emotion/relationship. Examine the clutter as they are metaphors of something in your life.

      It doesn’t matter if you didn’t see any people. For example beyond the white door I didn’t see my family or any people for that matter. I just saw a sterile O.R with a dental chair in the middle. I guess my workaholicness makes my work my family. 🙂

  2. I picked the green one, too. Mine was filled with dolls and little doll houses. Lit from a window and had a very happy feel. It reminded me of ‘home’. Weird because I usually find dolls creepy and don’t have very many happy thoughts associated with ‘home’. Cool post!

    • Did you try picturing the doors in your mind? It has to be done actively. But don’t worry if you couldn’t see. Some people are not visually imaginative. Your other senses may be stronger.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  3. I choose the red door. The wall is white and there is a small white table with a jar of flowers on top. The room has no shadows, and there was only one person in the room standing next to the flowers. He is my best friend, who I used to like, but then things got complicated. He is still my best friend, but things are a bit arkward.

    • Thank you,Jane for sharing that. But I think you still like him very much. You may be in denial because it got complicated as you said. And I think deep inside you know that too.

Do share your thoughts.

