Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Before I begin let me make a few things straight. I have not watched the first part of Captain America, and I had no idea who the guy was before I watched Avengers (where I found him totally useless because Iron Man, HawkEye, Black Widow and the Hulk had all my attention).

Then why did I even bother going for Captain America Part 2?

The answer is simple. I love superhero movies and I am a sucker for massive machines and gadgets and all-hell-has-broken-lose kinda fight scenes. So when half of my batch bunked class to go for the movie and returned with good reviews, I decided to give it a whirl.

I am so glad I did.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier was one hell of a movie. It began with action and ended with it. And the storyline was crisp, to-the-point and jam-packed with everything I love about action movies.

So if you haven’t watched the movie yet (and are a superhero movie fan) then go for it and stop reading this post immediately because beyond this point I guarantee you that there will be massive SPOILERS that will destroy the entire movie for you.

Captain-America-The-Winter-Soldier-Poster

Okay. Now that we have that out of the way, here are the things I loved about Captain America TWS:-

1. The Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson)

widow

Smart, suave, confident, and with the ability to take down a room full of men twice her size in under thirty seconds, the Black Widow was more than amazing. She was perfect. And if I could have one wish it would be to be just like her.

2. Falcon’s Flight Suit

Like I said earlier, I love machines! But the ones which totally blow my mind and wreck my body are the ones which appear to be inconsequential until they pull out the big guns.

In the movie when Falcon shows Captain America the machine he used to fly as a Pararescuer, the Captain says he thought he had meant airplanes when he had talked about his work in the military. Of course, I didn’t get the reference then because they never showed what Falcon flew, until Black Widow pushes off a corrupt S.H.I.E.L.D employee from the top of the S.H.I.E.L.D tower.

One second the man is falling to his obvious death, screaming like a banshee, and the next he is rescued and dropped back on the roof by Falcon, who has jet-propelled glider wings strapped to his back (a brilliant strategy to get the man to spill the information he had).

falconEver seen anything more magnificent? And I am talking about the wings, although Falcon was equally impressive. ❤

I think my mouth dropped when the mechanical wings folded in on themselves and slid into the backpack Falcon was wearing (which wasn’t a backpack obviously).

God, I want those wings! I want them so badly that I think I will become a billionaire just so that I can have someone build a pair for me.

3. The Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan)

bucky

He was silent. He was fast. And he was deadly. And I loved him even though he was one of the antagonists.

In fact when they finally zoomed in on his face (the bottom half was masked) I whispered to my friend that he was smoking hot (I am a sucker for beautiful eyes).

And when they revealed who he was, for the first time in my life I actually gasped aloud in a movie theatre.

But the best thing about the movie was…

4. Captain America/ Steve Rogers (Chris Evans)

captain america

OMG! He was so amazing that I have added another name to my ever-growing list of favorite superheroes. And Chris Evans’ handsome face was not even half the reason why I found him so awesome. I mean, have you seen that shield of his and those moves. Boy, he can fight.

But what made me fall in love with the guy was the fact that he knew his best friend was still there somewhere inside The Winter Soldier’s brainwashed head and he tried till the end to get him back.

And the list doesn’t end at number 4. The entire movie was freaking amazing, with the secret scenes in between the credits making the experience worth every rupee spent on it.

So what do you think about Captain America TWS? Are you a fan of superhero movies? Who’s your favorite superhero? Mine is Wolverine, closely followed by Iron Man (although to think of it Wolverine wouldn’t exactly call himself a superhero).

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for you today. See ya all next time, and till then, have fun!

-Ria

Do share your thoughts.

