Symposium – Battleground for Nerds

On 26th and 27th of April 2013, Manipal College of Dental Sciences (my college 🙂 ) had its very first intra-college Symposium. For those of you who do not know what that means, I am referring to a Scientific Paper Presentation Competition. And boy, it was amazing!

As I told you all in my last post, I submitted my name for this event and was part of its Pre-clinical section, which was for the first and second year undergrads. In all there were 27 submissions in this section, which was more than double the total number of participants in the Clinical section.

Anyway, since there were so many of us, the coordinators divided the Preclinicals into three sessions – an afternoon session on the 26th and the morning and afternoon sessions on 27th.

I won’t bore you with the details but the program ran smoothly and we had some pretty incredible judges. And since the Clinical and Preclinical prizes were separate there was tremendous competition.

And here are the results:-

No, I did not win the Best Paper prize (there were three of them – one for each session in the Preclinicals), but guess who won a Consolation prize? Me. 🙂

I won’t say that I am terribly happy, because I am not. I had slogged night and day to put together a brilliant presentation that would get over in eight minutes (which is too short for any scientific presentation). I had also read up a helluva lot. But most importantly, I had lived with “fear ants” crawling all over my spine for two days before I was able to get rid of the fear completely before I stepped on the stage (yup, I was as surprised as you).

But I guess my day of glory has to wait a while. Like my father says, and he said this when he realized I was moaning over the fact that I did not win, “Winning is not that important. Participation is. Because when you participate you learn. And when you learn you have the chance to win in the future. And win better.”

So I will console myself with the Consolation prize for now and wait for the next competition where I can be a fiercer opponent to beat.

So, have you taken part in competitions that you wanted to win badly? What would you have done or felt in my position? Do leave a comment below, I love it when you do.

Anyway, that’s it for now. I will be back soon… with Iron in my soul (psst… I am referring to Iron Man 3).

-Ria

P.S. If you like my writing style, or love The Spyglassviewer, don’t forget to subscribe to the free email updates or RSS the posts. Thanks.   

 

Do share your thoughts.

