The Comeback

Hey guys! Wassup? Guess what happened this time – my internet pack (courtesy: Manipal University) got over. Yup, all 15GBs of it. I know, I know, careless of me but I learnt my lesson fair and square and have come out of it with abundant sympathy for the addicts who go cold turkey and have to deal with the consequences of their actions.

If you want a funny tale, here’s my cold turkey experience:-

Day 1: No internet???? Why am I being punished???? Why? Why? Why?

Day 3: Ah well, can’t do anything about it. Might as well focus on writing about Fortis (story world in Rage: the book I am writing).

Day 5: Two weeks of no internet? Oh please! It will be gone in a blink and I will be reunited with my dearie.

Day 7: (Scene: In our hostel room)

Me: Please, can I use your internet for a while?

Roommate: Ah, ok, but not right now. I have to complete my presentation. (Genuine reason, don’t worry, she is nice.)

Me: I just need to send in the articles. (I am currently working for a student-run newspaper called What’s Up Manipal.)

Roommate: Just wait a while.

…5 hours later (or maybe it was just half an hour… I dunno, withdrawal screws up your internal clock)…

Me: Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You are an angel. (I definitely do not remember saying those words but I do remember feeling them when she turned her laptop my way).

Day 9: (Scene: A Behind-the-doors-alcohol-party)

Me: Shit! You are drunk!

Friend: No we are not…. *uncontrollable laughter and then bangs into the wall*

Me: Hey, give me your internet password.

Friend: I am not that drunk.

Day 11: It’s ok. Just five more days to go… *not so confident anymore*

Day 13: Please God, please. I, an atheist, have turned to you for help. Please, help me. Give me my weed.

22nd of February: The Day internet packs are renewed:-

Me: I’m so high; I could touch the sky; and bang it back, to Kingdom Shy!

Roommate: You don’t make any sense.

Me: I don’t have to. I am high! I can touch the sky…

Roommate: Please, spare me the singing.

Me: No can do.

Friend to Roommate: You should be given the Nobel Prize for Peace.

Roommate: I agree. *Watches me sing*

So are you addicted to the internet like me? Any cold turkey experiences you want to share? Please do leave a comment below, I love it when you do. 🙂

Anyway, that’s it for today. I hope you liked the comeback. If you did, do share it with your friends. And till the next time, have fun.

-Ria.

P.S. If you like my writing style or love The Spyglassviewer, don’t forget to sign up for the free email updates or subscribe to our RSS Feed. For more info check out the footer (below).

2 thoughts on “The Comeback

  1. Ha, I can’t even imagine how one can survive that long without Internet. I don’t believe I*ve had to go without Internet for that long in years. Welcome back the online civilization 😀

Do share your thoughts.

