Julie and Julia

Have you ever watched a movie that moved you to do something? Well, I experienced this phenomenon quite recently, yesterday night to be more exact.

“Julie and Julia” is a 2009 American comedy-drama starring Meryl Streep (Julia Child), Stanley Tucci, Amy Adams (Julie Powell) and Chris Messina. It is based on the book by the same name written by Julie Powell, a blogger turned writer who describes in the memoir the blogging challenge she took up on her blog The Julie/Julia Project of cooking in 365 days every single one of the 524 French recipes in Julia Child’s famous cookbook “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”.

The task was hefty but Julie managed to see it through till the end. And so it’s not really a surprise that her dedication landed her a book deal which subsequently became the first blog-based movie. Now that’s a remarkable story indeed.

The movie was brilliant to say the least and the acting phenomenal. In fact I can totally understand why Meryl Streep was nominated for the Best Actress category in the Oscars and won a Golden Globe; she was that good. And don’t even get me started on the food (because the movie after all had a food based story).

Every time they would show a delicious, steaming and sizzling dish on-screen, I felt like snatching the plate right out of the actors’ hands and drowning myself in pure food-induced ecstasy. In fact, the most fascinating thing in the movie was watching the characters whip up a good meal. I could practically feel my eyes smart when Julia chopped up a dozen or so onions and smell the delicious beef bourguignon that was the recipe on highlight in the movie.

Anyway, the movie was a pure delight to the senses – optic, auditory and olfactory (in my mind, of course). And I can’t remember when was the last time a movie stirred up such joyful and warm feelings in my heart.

But the main point that I really wish to talk about is that Julie and Julia has made me realize that sometimes good intentions and the will to do something isn’t enough to push you through till the end (like for Julie before she took up the challenge). Sometimes you need to define the goal and fight to see it achieved (like Julie after she set herself the challenge). And when we do that something magical happens.

And by magical I don’t mean book deals and instant fame but the sense of accomplishment that usually accompanies every goal that is achieved.

So I think I will set a challenge for myself. Haven’t figured it out yet but it will have to be something along the lines of completing the story world of the novel I am writing. Because tedious or not this needs to be done and I don’t think I can manage this without a definite goal in my head.

Have you watched the movie Julie and Julia? Ever set a countdown goal for yourself? What do you think about my latest ploy to write more efficiently? Do leave a comment below. I love to hear from you.

So that’s it for today. Watch Julie and Julia if you haven’t already and… I think I better run and forage some food before the rats in my stomach gnaw through my gastric mucosa. See ya next time.

-Ria

P.S. If you like my writing style, or love The Spyglassviewer (that would be me, :P), then don’t forget to sign up for free email updates or subscribe to our RSS feed. For more info check the right sidebar near the top.

P.P.S Watch out for the next post. It just might have an explosive argument on which one is better – the plain-old paperbacks or the digital age kindle.

2 thoughts on “Julie and Julia

Do share your thoughts.

