Kemmannu – The Hanging Bridge

“Tired of being what you want me to be…”

I jerked awake as my cell phone started to play Linkin Park’s Numb, my ringtone. Hastily snapping it open, I was greeted by a loud noise – the screeches of girls all prepared to leave for an outing.

“Ria, where are you?” asked my friend, the one who had finally remembered to call me.

“Shit! I am so sorry, I kept on sleeping. I will be down in ten minutes.” I stammered out as I glanced at my wristwatch and realized it was already 9.30, an hour past when we had decided last night to leave for the outing.

“Oh! Actually we are already at the bus stop. Come fast. We are waiting.”

And I ran. Like every single day. Even on a holiday (it was Eid)!

Well, the start might not have been peaceful but the rest of the day sure as hell was.

Thirteen of us visited the Hanging Bridge in Udupi that day. (A great start to a horror movie by the way). And no, we weren’t chased by the Grim Reaper.

Getting off the bus to Kemmannu (Hanging Bridge in kannada, I guess), we all were pretty much excited about the prospect of a bridge that swung with the wind. But we had to restrain the excitement because the bridge was a long dirt path away from where we stood on the roadside.

Walking merrily down the potholed road, we clicked some snazzy photos, laughed and had a great time. Thankfully it wasn’t raining so we were able to bask in the natural glory all around us. Believe me, Karnataka is a beautiful place.

After a few quick stops (for photography of course) we all finally arrived at the hanging bridge. But was it how I had imagined it would be? Oh yes, it was.

You see, the night before the outing I was in a hyperactive state of mind because I love the prospect of throwing some clothes on my back and hitting the road. And so I had researched about the bridge just so that I could spout off random facts if people wanted me to be a smartass. 😛

That’s why I had already known that the bridge was a common suspension bridge and not some rope and wooden planks shitty thing that would scare the crap out of people (and be the most amazing thing ever!).

I wasn’t disappointed when I predicted that the bridge would be as scary as a blind puppy. But I guess it more or less made up for its rather unenthusiastic approach towards scaring people by swinging gently. I could do with some of that (I love swings).

The only irritating part was watching my friends freak out. I mean, come on! Anyone would half a brain could see that the bridge was more stable than a… well, forget that, it was stable enough.

But I will admit that it was amusing watching my friends cross the pretty little thing as if it was going to snap into two any minute and plunge them into the ice-cold water of the river flowing below. (I am a sadist, hehe!) 😛

Apart from the disappointment at not getting my dose of adrenaline, which I being a junkie was eagerly hoping for, the trip was really peaceful. Nature has always drawn me hypnotically towards it. Must be because it has always held the power to calm me down.

I was inspired by the lush green foliage all around me, the light breeze ruffling my hair, the warmth of sunlight kissing my face. I loved the wriggling mass of tiny, black fishes swimming beneath the glassy surface of the river, the touch-me-nots that curled up shyly at one brush, the enormous coconuts that my friend warned me could cause trauma if they dropped on your head.

In fact, the trip would have been incomplete if I hadn’t stopped the gang midway because I wanted to buy a coconut from some local men who had just brought down a whole lot from the trees. (The coconut water was delicious in case you want to know).

On the whole the trip was amazing and I loved every minute of it. In fact, we are planning on going to Kudremukh sometime soon (which is an amazing hill station if I am to believe the ones who have already visited that place).

So have you been on an outing recently? Was it awesome? Boring? Do share your experiences. I love travel tales.

Anyway, that’s it for today. I hope my recounting didn’t send you to sleep. But if it did… hey, it couldn’t have! So come back this Friday for an amazing guest post from dry humor lover Jim Liston, who is a regular visitor on Spyglassviewer. Spoiler alert: The post has a hilarious bit about a woman putting on makeup in traffic and not realizing that the light has gone green.

So till the next time, scare some people… it’s fun! 😛

P.S. If you liked my writing style or love Spyglassviewer then don’t forget to sign up for free email updates or subscribe to our RSS feed. For more information check out the right sidebar near the top.

6 thoughts on “Kemmannu – The Hanging Bridge

    • Thanks. 🙂 We did have a lot of fun. Believe me, the bridge wasn’t scary at all. If you were here you would have understood my point.

  1. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in
    my social networks!

  2. Hey there fantastic blog! Does running a blog similar to this require
    a massive amount work? I’ve no expertise in programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Thanks!

    • I have no experience in programming either. WordPress takes care of that. But yes, making your blog good does require a lot of hard work. When I started out, my blog was really a dump. But then I read other blogs and articles and started to incorporate their ideas in my blog. That’s how I grew.

Do share your thoughts.

