A Writer’s Paradise: Wattpad

A few months back I came across a website that is so awesome that every time I visit it I feel like shouting off the rooftops and letting the world know about its awesomeness! Okay, I do have a tendency to exaggerate but this time I am honestly telling you what I feel.  🙂

The website is http://www.wattpad.com. And it is the best place any writer can be.

Wattpad is a forum where writers can upload their stories and have people read them, meet people from all over the world, exchange ideas, expand their creativity and on the whole have a great time.

And all these are definitely useful when you want to establish a platform for yourself; a platform of loyal readers and followers who will stick by you when you finally become a published author and desperately need good reviews to leave behind the newbie tag and worm into the bestselling list.

But besides this Wattpad serves every writer in another marvelous way:- 

Every writer who wishes to establish themselves as an author begins with a work they keep on modifying for years on end until they get published. I know it because I have been working on my first novel – Rage, for the last six years and have modified it so many times that the first version and the most recent version have only one thing in common – the protagonist’s name.

But we all have these tiny ideas for other stories that we get at the oddest times of the day (the last idea that struck me was when I was walking on my treadmill at home). But since we are already working on our mega novel we just put these ideas on the back-burner to return back to when we have time, which frankly will take maybe 5 or 6 more years to turn up.

That’s where Wattpad comes in. You can start a story based on these little ideas and keep adding chapters as and when you feel like it. And before you know it you will have a completed book and a bunch of steady readers who think you are awesome!

I particularly love the part where you can add a cover for your story. Oh no, the covers aren’t provided. For that you need a good eye for pictures that suit the story and some snazzy editing skills so that you can create one for yourself. And since they are just for recreational purposes it doesn’t even infringe on any copyright laws. Wanna see the cover of the story I am writing now on Wattpad? Here you go:-

Oh yeah! It does have a spooky feel to it since it is a paranormal thriller. And that’s another good thing about Wattpad, you can experiment and write stories you generally wouldn’t consider sending out to publishers since it’s not really your niche. 

And if your story becomes really popular then the Wattpad administration goes ahead and markets your novel and you get the chance to sign a contract with a good publishing house (of more importance to self-publishing enthusiasts, which I am not).

So I am totally in love with Wattpad! And if you are a writer as well then you should definitely head over there at once and start your own profile. The benefits are phenomenal!

P.S. If you wish to read Cursed head over to this link here. But let me warn you I have uploaded only ten chapters till now and so if you really like the story you might get frustrated that it isn’t complete. And if you don’t… well, my excuse is it really isn’t the best I can write.  😛

So till the next time, have fun!

And before I forget, do leave a comment if you found the post thought provoking. I love to hear from you!  

4 thoughts on “A Writer’s Paradise: Wattpad

  1. I wish I could share your enthusiasm, but I’m finding Wattpad very frustrating. I know that people aren’t going to find my work if I don’t read and comment on theirs, and that’s the problem. Finding anything that isn’t about teens in love or finding out that they destined for greatness somewhere in lala land is taking more time than I can spare. I have no doubt there’s lots of good stuff to read, but trying to sort it out from the dreck is becoming an overwhelming task. I do realize that the site is heavily oriented to the young, and many of them are just feeling their way in writing, but…! The forums are dreadful and a complete waste of time, so even they aren’t a way to socialize and get to know people. It’s only been a few weeks, and I’m struggling not to just pull my story off and sign out forever.

    • Believe me, been there done that. I started out in September last year and lost my enthusiasm for Wattpad within two weeks. And suddenly out of the blue a reader left a wonderful comment on my latent story, which sparked off the will to write in me.
      I think Wattpad can be an amazing place if you know how to navigate it. I have learnt since then and am learning more. And there’s also the fact that uploading stories actually helped me get a perspective on my major writing project since I am learning what works and what doesn’t, how to handle characters and how not to mould worlds, etc. etc.
      I agree with you about the effectiveness of the forums but I think you shouldn’t lose heart so soon. There are definitely awesome people out there on Wattpad who write great stories, comment great stuff and turn out to be great friends. 🙂
      Anyway, thank you for leaving a comment. If all else fails send me a PM on Wattpad, I can introduce you to some great people. 🙂

      • Thanks for the encouragement. Some days it’s hard to stick with something that looks as if it isn’t working, but I know these things take time. I’m posting a story that I’ve already published, and if I continue, I’ll eventually start posting new stuff as I write it, but short stories only. I’m not looking for a publisher.

        Paranormal thrillers aren’t really my thing, but I’ll definitely take a look at yours.

Do share your thoughts.

