7 Things I Hate About Facebook

Facebook has invaded our lives better than the body snatchers and is here to stay. Some would even consider Mark Zuckerberg a God for this fine creation that has brought the world closer than ever. But there are some aspects of Facebook that are not so amazing. Let me introduce you today to our guest author, Neltje Ann who has come to us with a few of those. Continue Neltje…

Some things just drive me up the wall. Granted, a lot of things drive me up the wall, but that’s beside the point. Let me turn my rantings towards Facebook. It’s an incredible website, often I wonder how in the world I would keep in touch with my friends without it. However, here are the things that I just can’t stand about Facebook.

 1.    Popularity Contest

It seems like people are just trying to outdo each other with how many friends they’ve got. “I’ve got 600 friends”, “Well, I’ve got 10,000!!!” As a matter of fact, no one really cares how many friends you have. How many friends do you actually talk to?

 2.    No Recent Photos? You Must Not Have a Life.

I go out plenty but when was the last time I uploaded photos? Probably 4 months ago. My friends are always asking me if I do anything. Just because I don’t post it up on Facebook for all to see doesn’t mean I don’t have a life.

 3.    Too Old or Too Young

Facebook was created for college students. I am of the opinion that we should keep it that way. It’s weird when your grandma is commenting on a status she shouldn’t be asking about. Young people are joining. My little brother just got Facebook. He’s 12. He shouldn’t be updating about his “fun times in class”.

4.    Your Family Members are Stalking You

Sure, Facebook brings people together. But what if the people you are trying to get away from are the ones that are writing on your wall? Too much family love I say.

5.    Friend Suggestions

I find these quite annoying. Why would I want to be friends with my second cousin’s sister’s husband’s grandma’s dog? No thanks.

6.    Notifications

Don’t get me wrong. I love seeing the red notification box when I log in, but when it’s something stupid like someone commenting on a status you like, it’s pretty annoying.

7.    Privacy

Facebook knows so much about you, it’s almost scary. It knows what you like and what you don’t. Granted, we pretty much put up our whole lives online, but Facebook needs to stop being so knowledgeable about everything.

About the Author:-
Neltje Ann is a writer for MyCollegesandCareers.com. My Colleges and Careers helps people determine if an online education is right for them, helps them understand how they can find the best online colleges , and which ones they can choose from to reach their goals.

6 thoughts on “7 Things I Hate About Facebook

    • Yeah, it is. Whenever I log in my notification box is clogged with farmville, castleville or cafeworld requests. I mean, come on, I don’t have time to play all these games or I would have a long time back.

      Thanks for commenting!

  1. So, I “liked” this, but do you care? I’m not a college student either, in fact, I’m a grandfather. FB lets me keep in touch with my friends and family who live far, far away..
    Anyway, thanks for your insights.
    cheers

    • I like Facebook very much. Keeping in touch with far off family members is one of the reasons. My guest author, Neltje is welcome to her point of view that old people shouldn’t be on FB since it’s a democratic world. But I personally don’t care who uses the site.

      Thank you for commenting.

  2. I love your post. I agree 100% especially with the privacy part. By the way have you watched the video Kony 2012? What do you think?

    Keep up the great work 🙂

    naielaa

    • Hi Naielaa!
      Thanks for commenting. I too feel that FB has a lot of privacy issues and thus do not upload too many details about myself. And about the video Kony 2012, I haven’t watched it but I read about it on wikipedia after you mentioned it. I hope they catch Joseph Kony and put an end to the atrocities being committed by his militant army.

Do share your thoughts.

