Manipal University: Inspired by Life

“When you really want something with all your heart the entire universe conspires to get it to you.”

There are no truer words. At times we see people who seem to have everything in the world and wonder what is the secret behind their success? The secret is- there is no secret. These people believed they would get what they wanted and that’s exactly what life handed to them.  Why do you think pessimists are always so unhappy and in some or the other kind of trouble? Why do you think optimists always turn out to be the winner even if the situation is unkind? It’s because everything balances on your belief.

Although this phrase is my father’s favorite phrase I never really paid that much attention to it, but now I do. Why? Because it came true for me. The situation, the timing, my own irresponsible behavior, my exam rank, everything said that the odds of me getting into med school was next to nil. But I got in still. I got exactly what I wanted (getting into Manipal University) only because I believed I would get in.

And the getting what I wanted didn’t end there, I got every damn thing my subconscious ever wanted. I wasn’t ragged (Anti-Ragging rules), I got amazing teachers (although some aren’t really that amazing), amazing subjects (other than Biochemistry ofcourse), amazing seniors and don’t forget, amazing infrastructure (the labs are simply amazing). Wow, I am amazed at the number of times I have said amazing in the last few lines!

But that’s Manipal University to you in short. It is A-freaking-MAZING!

Spread out over 600 acres, the town of Manipal is centred around Manipal University (MU) like planets around the sun. With more than 20,000 students studying over 14 different disciplines in their very own campuses spread all around the town, living at Manipal is an experience like no other.

The main headquarters of the MU is the manipal.edu building which is attached to Asia’s largest Health Sciences Library.

Although Manipal College of Dental Sciences (MCODS) has a wing attached to the Kasturba Medical College, we have our lectures at the Centre for Basic Sciences (CBS) where all the lecture halls and labs are located (other than the biochemistry and physiology labs).

Everyday (except for Sundays) we have lectures from 8 o’clock in the morning to 12.30 in the afternoon. After that we have one and a half hours of break during which we head over to the Foodcourt for lunch. Standing opposite to the manipal.edu building, the Foodcourt is a beautiful two storeyed building where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served for the students who have paid in advance to eat there. But the Foodcourt also allows branded shops like Barista, Subway etc. to operate within its premises.

From 2 to 4 p.m everyday other than Sunday we have to attend our lab classes. At MU every lab is fully equiped with the latest intruments and equipments needed for lab work. It is a sheer pleasure to work with such high quality devices after using ratty, from-days-of-yore equipments at school-level labs.

But the best part of MU is without doubt the Manipal Sports Arena complex, also called MARENA. An architectural wonder, MARENA is a seven storeyed building housing courts for squash, badmintion, basketball, table tennis, football, tennis and ofcourse a HUGE gym. Since it was built in a huge depression, five of the seven floors of MARENA appear to be below ground level, although they are not.

But the one building I love the best out of them all is no doubt the Health Sciences Library, which also happens to be Asia’s largest such library. Attached to the manipal.edu building, the library is like a fortress eagerly protecting its treasures inside. Students aren’t allowed to take library books out of the building but since most of the floor space on every floor is occupied by single cubicles where students can study in peace, this doesn’t prove to be inconvinient.

All in all, being a part of MU is a matter of pride. And I am glad that I am getting the opportunity to utilize every facility provided here so that I can leave the institution after five years with my head held up high and only a brilliant future ahead of me.

19 thoughts on “Manipal University: Inspired by Life

  1. Ria, you have written an amazing blog. Very nicely done and the language is amazing, Look, even I’ve started with the ‘amazing’ fever. Anyways, continue writting like this and I’m sure you’re going to get more hits.

  2. Hi! I would like to ask if you can tell me more about the course in Manipal. For example, the structure, how practicals are conducted etc? Since you study there, I thought it would be best to ask. I could not find much information about the course at Manipal, but I am very interested to know! Hopefully you will see this!

    • I am currently studying in the Manipal College of Dental Sciences (MCODS). So if by “course” you mean Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) then I might be able to help you out. In MCODS, 1st and 2nd year students have to study pre-clinical aspects of dentistry, which means the subjects are common with MBBS but with a few extra dental subjects specifically for us. Practicals are held for all the theory subjects. 3rd and 4th years have clinical subjects, which are all dental subjects with additional general medicine and surgery common with MBBS. And they also have to practice in the dental clinic on patients (thus called clinical). 5th years are interns.
      Every year there are a few exam-going and a few non-exam going subjects. Attendence in exam-going subjects must be at least 75% in both theory and practicals separately and 70% for the non exam-going. Manipal University is very strict about this rule and many students are not allowed to sit for the University exams at the end of the year is they fail to fulfil this criteria. There are three sessional exams and one university exam.
      If you want more details don’t hesitate to ask. And specific questions might be more helpful. Thanks for leaving a comment!

  3. Hi Ria, I’m an aspiring doctor/dentist. I just gave the Manipal Online Test this year. I secured a score of 130/200. I’m not sure if I’m eligible for MBBS at KMC or BDS at MCOD. So, I was wondering if you know what last year’s (2013) cut-off for both BDS and MBBS was. It would be of GREAT help If you could give me a rough idea of my chances of getting into this wonderful college!
    I would be more than happy to get into the Dental program here! 😀

    Thanks,
    Ayush

    • 50% is the cutoff. Wait for the ranks to come out. If you find yourself in the first list of students then your chances are good. Usually people who get amazing marks in MAHE entrance exam also score well in other exams and therefore choose other colleges because Manipal has really high fees that everyone can’t afford. Your chances may be better in the BDS list though with your marks but that depends if you make it to the first list of students (which is usually till rank 3000). Even if your rank is closer to 3000 I would recommend that you went for the counselling. Most of the students in our batch are from the post 1500 rank.

  4. Great blog.!! I am EXACTLY in your position. Though scored 98.6% in my PU this year, my CET ranking is not so good.My MU ranking is ok, but didnt make it in the first list for MBBS/BDS. But I am hoping against hopes and dreaming that I will be in through the 2nd list. My dad too is saying the same thing, “believe in it”. I was irresponsible in not writing the COMEDK. Your article is kindling hopes in me and keeping me positively charged.!!Thanks

      • Thanks for your wishes Ria, how is the Mangalore campus different from the Manipal campus in terms of academics/teaching/facilities etc. I know that the glam part is missing in Mlore. And I also heard that Manipal doesnt have management seats, is that true?.Was glad to read that there is no ragging in Manipal.thanks for your feedback

      • The plus point of Mangalore is that the patient inflow is tremendous over there so you will get to actually practice what you learn. That’s one thing that really frustrates us here in Manipal. Also, Mangalore is a city while Manipal doesn’t have too many things to do in other than go eat out or watch movies at INOX. Other than that Mangalore and Manipal campuses are pretty good in their own ways. You just won’t get to study at the Health Sciences Library in Mangalore (which is Asia’s largest and totally awesome!).

        As for Management, Manipal does have a BBM college, TAPMI and it’s awesome. Search online, you will get something.

      • Hey Ria,

        Thanks for your reply. I think you misunderstood me about the management course, my question was about seats under management quota. And I am very concerned that the 2nd list is not out yet.

  5. hey,
    Your blog really inspired me alot and boosted my confidence.I am currently doing my 12th grade and its ending soon.Definitely the pressure is on, about the choice of career and colleges etc. MANIPAL has been a dream for me, more like an obsession now.So many students across the country are writting the mu exam and my hopes are fading.Can you please tell me how is the mu entrance,and how you prepared for it.I am very worried and i will be dissappointed if i dont get selected.

    • Just study and solve mock papers and questions. Don’t be scared. Keep your eyes on the goal and you will get there.

      The best part is there is no negative marking. Or at least that’s how it was for us. Best of luck! Let me know how it went.

  6. Hi Ria,
    That’s a very well written blog.

    I have given the cet to get into MDS at Manipal.
    It would be a great help if you could tell me the average patient inflow at both campuses, specially in the pedo dept. Also, how is the faculty?
    And is the money spent worth it?

    Thanks so much!

    • I can tell you that the patient flow in Manipal is not that great but the teachers are really good. But I guess at the end of the day you need more experience,don’t you think?

Do share your thoughts.

